Another E-gold phishing attempt
These people are definitely going to hell!
Anyway, I got another of those emails. It looks very real, but still a fake. The link ( http://www.e-gold.com.secrd.com/acct/login.html ) tries very hard to look like it’s from e-gold, but you will know that it is not, because the mother domain is secrd.com. I checked it in whois, and the domain was just registered today. The mail server used is from makng.com, which was registerd a day earlier. (you can find that our by checking your email headers.
To check email headers in yahoo mail, just click on the FULL HEADERS link at the lower right of the email. In outlook express, it is found in File->Properties->Details->Message Source
Date: Thu, 17 Aug 2006 09:09:15 -0400
To: xxx@yahoo.com
Subject: Notification of e-gold account update
From: AccountRobot_donotreply@e-gold.com Add to Address Book Add Mobile Alert
Dear e-gold user,Due to the number of incorrect login attempts, your e-gold account
has been temporarily limited for your security. This has been done
to secure your account and to protect your private information in
case the login attemps were not done by you.Account access will remain limited until this issue will be solved.
Please click on the link bellow and log in to your account:We apologize for any inconvenience this may cause, and appreciate
assistance in helping us maintain the integrity of the entire
e-gold system. Thank you for your prompt attention to this matter.Please do not reply to this automatically generated email message.